Skip to content

Tomatoes and Bears

May 18, 2009

It’s simple.  I love tomatoes. I can and will eat them every day this summer with apologies to no one.  I planted forty tomato plants this spring only because I ran out of space in the row.  I will end up canning some, eating many, making salsa, salads, sauces and sandwiches .  But mostly I will watch them. Just seeing a straight row of dark green plants with bright red fruit growing throughout the summer is satisfying to me.

Bear, the Australian Shepherd, and I will discuss our findings each evening amongst the bluebirds and lightning bugs, while eating tomatoes and crabgrass. (Bear eats the crabgrass) It’s relaxing, productive and for someone who enjoys a good tomato, exciting.

My Dad loves black-eyed peas and my brother has a wierdness for yellow squash this same way. And yes, Bear loves him some crabgrass.  So come on veggie lovers, do tell….. What is your secret food shame?

Bookmark and Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:15 pm

    Not a Florida veggie but I would eat an artichoke every night if I could. I love them!
    One of my uncles eats tomatoes every night. He is 65 and I swear he doesn’t look any older than 40! I guess that is his secret to youth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

