Skip to content

My Christmas Tree Farm Adventure

December 8, 2008
by

I wanted to share my experience of visiting a Florida Christmas tree farm and cutting down my own tree.  First of all, you must know a little bit about me in order to fully appreciate this story.

I am a city girl born and raised in Miami.  I have lived in Tallahassee now since college, which has been a while.  I don’t do the outdoors. I’m afraid of most animals, especially those that live in the outdoors.  That about covers them all.   I dropped out of girl scouts because of the camping, and I have a fear of birds and frogs.

Now that you know a little bit about me you can somewhat understand why everyone thought I was totally out of my mind when I said I wanted to cut down my own Christmas tree, especially, since last year was the first time I even put up a tree.  Yes, you can say I’m somewhat of a scrooge.

But this year I wanted to do something different and create my own personal tradition so I went off to the Havana Christmas Tree Farm.

I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised by my experience.  You enter into this tree farm with all the Christmas decorations, and you’re instantly in the holiday mood.  The workers are friendly, cheerful and very helpful.  I had my little dog (Laede) with me to share in this experience.  It’s a great place to take your dogs and your kids, but I don’t have kids so my pooch will have to do.

You can cut your own tree or have the people cut it for you, but it’s more fun to do it yourself.  Not to mention your friends and family would get a kick out of seeing you trying to cut down a tree.  At this tree farm they also had golf carts you could use to ride all around in search of the perfect Florida tree.

After 3 hours, a cup of hot chocolate and few good laughs, I found the perfect tree.   Did I mention I went for a 6ft tree and left with an 8ft one?  I only have a 9 ft ceiling.  It doesn’t matter.  I love my tree!

img002641

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:52 pm

    What a fun story! I’m so glad that you were able to find a tree that you really love.

Leave a Reply

