Skip to content

Traveling and Eating – Two of My Favorite Things

January 27, 2009

traveling-to-the-summit2

When traveling I’m use  to grabing a bag of M&M’s or some Cheetos to help take my mind off of the fact that my flight has been delayed for the third time, I’m not going to make my connecting flight and that my luggage will not even make it at all.  The junk food helps relieve the stresses of traveling – at least that’s what I told myself.

Sure we all know what’s good for us but let’s face it, for a lot of us when we get stressed and worn down we find comfort in food.  Not to mention everything you would try to avoid on a normal day is right at you fingertips when you’re stuck in an airport.  What are you  to do?  Hello, you’re stuck in an airport, you can’t very well run to the grocery store and pick up some fruit.  Well, maybe you can, but do you really want to deal with security twice, NOT.

Now that I’m taking control of my health and body I had to think about how to make better choices when I travel.   The first thing was, I had to except that I may not eat the same way I would if I was home, but it doesn’t mean I had to lose site of what I know is good for me.  For starters, I traveled with my own healthy choices; trail mix, nuts, granola bars and fruit to help me deal with the stress and cravings.  I realized I didn’t need the junk, I can deal with my stress in other ways like playing Suduko or doing a crossword puzzle.

When I eat meals I go for the salad or lean meat instead of the fried foods and burgers.  Don’t get me wrong sometimes that piece of fried chicken or burger looks rather tempting.  And even though I’m perfect most of the time (you can stop laughing now) I have opted for the less than perfect choice sometimes.  However, it’s what you do afterwards that matters.  I won’t eat it twice and I decided for every bad choice I make I must make at least two good ones.  So if I have that piece of fried chicken for lunch you best believe my dinner will be a lighter choice.  If I ate a heavy meal, I would go to the gym at the hotel, take the stairs or park further to help burn the extra calories.

Then once I’m back home, it’s back to my normal routine.  This way I can still enjoy two of my favorite things – Traveling and Eating..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. howard permalink
    January 28, 2009 4:00 pm

    amen sister, passing the fried chicken is a hard deed.

  2. Sterling permalink
    January 28, 2009 4:57 pm

    Seriously, when I travel that’s the last thing I think about – eating healthy. Good for you for having such success! Stay away from Krystal burger … that’s go-to place when I travel 🙂

  3. Miriam permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:02 pm

    Wow… You have made a very good point. I am exactly the same way. Living in Bermuda sometimes feels like purgatory, so when I get to leave the rock the comfort foods of home is the first thing I think about! Yes, Krystals and Chik-fil-a are my first choices! You have motivated me to do better! The test will be my trip to NYC this weekend, Superbowl weekend. OH NO!!!

  4. Tom permalink
    February 2, 2009 12:50 pm

    Making two good choices for one bad…that’s a very good plan. I have been doing it backwards.

Leave a Reply

