Skip to content

Eat something local!

January 28, 2009

Chili’s, Applebee’s, TGI Friday’s, Ruby Tuesdays, Olive Garden… do these sound familiar? That’s what you would classify as a ‘chain restaurant’ – right? Had you asked me 3 years ago what my favorite restaurant was I probably would have named one of those. Now, after working here for the past few years, my view has changed. Now ask me what my favorite restaurant is and I’ll name a couple of locally owned restaurants in Tallahassee (where we are located).Not only does eating at your local restaurants improve and support the local economy, the food just tastes better, period! You know the produce and the seafood are fresh, the chefs tend to put more ‘love’ into their food because this restaurant is theirs!

When I first started working at the department, I went on a work trip with a coworker and he tried to get me to eat at some local BBQ place up North Carolina.  I told him no and that I wanted to find a restaurant with a name I knew. He still laughs at me to this day about that, and I think back and laugh too. I’ve changed my views a lot. Now when I travel, I try to find the local restaurants that use locally grown produce. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy my Chick-fil-a and all that but in general I try to stay away from chains.

So when you are looking for a new restaurant to try in your area, try to find some locally owned restaurants – trust me their names won’t be any of the ones that I listed above. Slow Food is an excellent source for finding those locally owned restaurants in your area. If you’re looking for local seafood restaurants, our Division of Seafood has an excellent list too. The next time you go out to eat, try somewhere local!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. erin permalink
    January 29, 2009 4:51 pm

    Finally! You never listen to me. Even for a small town like Tallahassee, we have some great food. We also have some great farms in the area. I’ve been noticing more ingredients on menus identified by farm, I love that!
    (thanks for copying my heading title)

  2. Horton hears a Who's Who permalink
    January 30, 2009 2:17 pm

    Slow Food is a great site. Thanks for sharing and congratulations on your becoming an enlightened part-time “locavore”.

Leave a Reply

