Skip to content

Finally.

January 30, 2009
by

Okay.  Enough already.

Our blog queens have been relentless in beating me up about finally blogging.  (I won’t write their names, but they rhyme with Barren and Hurling)

I know our nation is facing an epidemic of obesity and cholesterol is a concern for most of us over 40 people over 40.  (Hurling, how do I get rid of that blatant lie I typed???) Nonetheless, I have finally found my inspiration for the first blog.

If you’re like me, and I know I am, you love anything that comes off a grill or a smoker.  (They’re different beasts, but I think I’ll leave that to another blog!)  Yankees who scoff at the idea of mullet turn to putty when sampling this divine fish after a session on the smoker.  The cheapest cuts of beef are rendered to excellence with a little hickory and a lot of time.

So, for your consideration, I point you to a most heavenly website–especially for those of us who know the difference between lump charcoal and the lowly briquette.  I give you—– THE BACON EXPLOSION!!

Not for the faint of heart…In fact it’s probably not good for any heart. Yet what started as slop & sow on a farm has become a masterpiece of porcine perfection.

Enjoy

–pd

4 Comments leave one →
  1. erin permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:49 am

    Funny that you mentioned that recipe because it’s an internet sensation. The New York Times did a great write-up of its success and the delicious recipe. I’m including the article in my latest “Articles of Interest” but you don’t read that either so here’s a link:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/28/dining/28bacon.html?no_interstitial

    Maybe you’ll learn something and continue to help our cause out!
    -Barren (I’m trying not be offended by your word choice)

  2. Hard Hearted Hannah permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:54 pm

    Just saw the picture of this – my atreries hurt, but in a good, tingly way.

  3. February 2, 2009 9:03 am

    So some friends made this over the weekend. It was…interesting.

  4. Sterling permalink
    February 3, 2009 4:47 pm

    Not like this is really relevant, but you mentioned bacon and I came across this today – The Bacon Man. http://foodproof.com/blogs/view/post/bacon-man-435

    Weird.

Leave a Reply

