Skip to content

The Pay-Off

February 2, 2009
by

Last week during my trip to the Lake Ella Growers’ Market, I bought a big bag of mustard greens. I love greens. I’ve sworn a couple of times that I could eat them everyday. That is a long as they are meat-fee and not soggy or mushy.

I finally got around to cooking the greens on Saturday. I choose a recipe out of Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, a recent purchase that I absolutely LOVE. His recipes along with his cooking philosophy are so simple; he really stresses the value of using fresh ingredients.

Anyways, I probably didn’t need the recipe because it was incredibly simple, but I can always use the extra assurance in the kitchen. Basically all I did was brown the greens over high heat with some oil and shallot (not part of the recipe).
cookingOnce the greens were cooked, I added some lemon juice, pepper and hot sauce (another of my additions).

finished

In just minutes, I had a delicious bowl of greens ready to be eaten!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 2:17 pm

    wow, that looks really pretty. i usually don’t eat greens but they look so good that i might just have to have some.

    i just looked at mark bitten’s blog (http://bitten.blogs.nytimes.com/). i really like how simple his recipes are. not a ton of ingredients… thats my kind of cookin.

Leave a Reply

