Skip to content

Rethinking your vegetables: broccoli

February 23, 2009

roasted FL broccoliYou may remember me talking about my goal of re-discovering foods that I despised as a child a few weeks ago.   Well now I can check broccoli off my list (with hearts and smiley faces all around it).  I have found a way to eat broccoli and actually come back for seconds!  This was one that I didn’t think I could ever get over, but when I saw the recipe for Best Broccoli of Your Life on one of my new favorite blogs, The Amateur Gourmet, I had to try it.

The recipe used on The Amateur Gourmet was adapted from a recipe by one of my favorite chefs, Ina Garten (or The Barefoot Contessa from Food Network).  It’s from her cookbook, “Back to Basics: Fabulous Flavor from Simple Ingredients.”  I love her because not only is she a fantastic cook, but she’s a great baker as well.  Anyway, back to the broccoli:
This is sooo easy (if I can do it, anyone can).  You can see the original recipe on The Amateur Gourmet – here’s how I did mine (note – this is only enough for about 2 people but can easily be doubled):

I mixed my broccoli, garlic and oil in a bowl first

I mixed my broccoli, garlic and oil in a bowl first

Best Broccoli of Your Life
Ingredients

-1 large bunch of broccoli, cut into florets  and dried throughly (Note: FL broccoli is in season!!)
-4 garlic cloves, minced
-2 tbs olive oil
-Salt and pepper to taste
-1 tbs fresh lemon juice and a little zest
-Freshly grated parmesan cheese
*Note: It’s very important that your broccoli be dry!

spread out on a baking sheet and season with salt and pepper

Spread out on a baking sheet and season with salt and pepper

Directions

Toss the broccoli, garlic, oil, salt and pepper together and spread onto a baking sheet.  Pop into a 425 degree oven and roasted 20-25 minutes  until the broccoli is crisp-tender and some of the tips are browned. When it’s done cooking, zest a little bit of the lemon over the broccoli and add the juice.   All that’s left is to add your parmesan and eat!

broccoli

Top with lemon and parmesan before serving

It’s delicious and offers a heck of a lot more flavor than steaming.  Once again, I am so happy that I am “rethinking my vegetables” because now I have a new fave veggie dish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

