Skip to content

My new favorite slaw

March 23, 2009

slawSince Florida cabbage was on sale last week (and it was St. Patrick’s Day), I decided to make some slaw!  I am not a huge fan of mayonaise unless it’s on a sandwich so I knew I didn’t want to make your traditional cole slaw.  I went looking on our website for a recipe and found one that sounded easy and delicious.

Here’s the recipe from the website – I changed a few things so see my notes at the bottom.

Crunchy Cabbage Salad

Ingredients
1 pound cabbage, shredded
1 package Ramen beef noodles
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup almonds, slivered
6 green onions, chopped
1 cup snow peas
1/2 cup carrots, sliced
Dressing
1/3 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup sugar
seasoning packet from Ramen noodles

Preparation
Mix salad ingredients in large bowl and refrigerate. Mix dressing and refrigerate. Pour dressing over cabbage mixture and toss just before serving.

Yield
8 servings

Nutritional Values Per Serving
Calories 286, Calories From Fat 169, Total Fat 19g, Saturated Fat 2g, Trans Fatty Acid 0, Cholesterol 0mg, Total Carbohydrate 26g, Protein 7g, Omega 3 Fatty Acid 0.90g

This stuff is awesome!!  It definitely makes a lot – perfect for a big spring picnic or a bbq!  I omitted sunflower seeds and snow peas because I was being cheap.  I also cut down the sugar to about 1/3 cup and only used half of the seasoning packet.  I toasted the almonds since I left out sunflower seeds to give it more of a nutty taste (they looked almost burnt but they were pretty good).  I added the almonds and ramen noodles right before putting the dressing on to make sure everything stayed nice and crunchy.  This was a really easy, tasty and cheap side dish.  All of my dinner guests went back for seconds and thirds.  I will definitely make it again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 2:11 pm

    I love this coleslaw! RAMEN NOODLES are awesome in it no matter what some chefs think! 🙂

  2. Melissa permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:40 pm

    This kind of slaw made me realize that I do, in fact, like raw cabbage. It was the mayonnaise base in traditional slaws that made me dislike (immensely) coleslaw. I actually make one similar to this one! Try it with cooked, shredded chicken. Yum.

Leave a Reply

