Skip to content

Alligator- the gift that keeps on giving!

March 30, 2009

I am always looking for interesting and special presents to buy for people. Once my brother and I ordered some Florida lobster tails for my 93 year old grandpa and they arrived in a big box that said, “CAUTION, LIVE ANIMALS ENCLOSED.” He did not know what to do.  He poked the box with a stick waiting for it to move or something. Then my aunt came over and was too scared to open it. Finally they cautiously looked inside to find lobster TAILS on ice and no creepy crawlies like they expected. Anyway, I have decided that the next “one of a kind” gift that I want to purchase is an alligator leather wallet. Each item created from alligator leather is unique- there’s no other like it out there. And it is something that you will keep for a lifetime due to its high quality and durability.

One thing you have to be careful about is ensuring that you are purchasing genuine alligator leather and not an imitation product. Check out this site for Florida companies that sell REAL alligator leather items: Alligator Leather Suppliers.

Now if I decide to get a wallet for someone else, should I kill two birds with one stone and get myself a purse?!

Courtesy of Alligator Trading Company Courtesy of Alligator Trading Company
20 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:46 am

    I might suggest an alligator hide door like I saw in Miami. Very distinctive and national champion-like, the door featured two 6 foot tanned hides mounted vertically. It sounds strange, but it did look very cool. It would empty your alligator hide wallet, however.

  2. John Easley permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:54 am

    Turned out great!

  3. Phyllis permalink
    March 30, 2009 12:24 pm

    Over the years, I have bought my hubby three alligator belts. He says they are the best belts he has ever owned!

  4. March 30, 2009 12:36 pm

    I love the “live animals” notice…maybe they should have a otice on their website when ordering that their package will come with this warning so the recipients don’s freak out. I’ll bet your grandfather has told that story over and over to his friends…it is a laugh out loud moment. Wish you had video. Good article.

  5. Carol Duval permalink
    March 30, 2009 12:56 pm

    What a great blog–makes me want to go out and order lobster from Florida!

  6. Alec permalink
    March 30, 2009 4:32 pm

    Reading this makes me wish someone would buy me an alligator wallet.

  7. Mia permalink
    March 30, 2009 6:29 pm

    I think you need some alligator boots to match the bag!

  8. Chris S. permalink
    March 30, 2009 6:41 pm

    Definitely get the purse! How could you pass it up?

    This entry makes me want Lobster Tail! Yummy!

  9. sheila whitehead permalink
    March 30, 2009 8:48 pm

    Nicole, that is a cute story you are very thoughtful in your gifts. can never go wrong with food. Also love your picture

  10. Michelle permalink
    March 31, 2009 8:21 am

    Great story. I would get the purse too!

  11. Destiny permalink
    March 31, 2009 9:28 am

    Great gifts! Now you have me wanting some alligator stuff for myself!

  12. Spada permalink
    March 31, 2009 12:10 pm

    I just love alligators =)

  13. Mel Haugdahl permalink
    March 31, 2009 5:24 pm

    Nicole, since I have so many “gator” lovers in my family….this looks like a good source to buy all my presents in the future. Thanks!

  14. Christy permalink
    March 31, 2009 7:50 pm

    Alligators are definitely tasty but not among my favorite in the seafood recipes section.

  15. Donnie Kershaw permalink
    April 1, 2009 11:07 am

    How much was the lobster tails?

  16. Mike Kruse permalink
    April 2, 2009 7:45 am

    Great article, keep them coming.

  17. Amy permalink
    April 2, 2009 12:42 pm

    This gives a whole new meaning to “Fresh from Florida”!

  18. Melinda permalink
    April 4, 2009 12:46 pm

    You are a great writer! I loved the story about your grandpa and the lobster tails!

  19. Stephanie permalink
    April 8, 2009 11:00 pm

    I think the FSU gift shops sell Alligator! 🙂 Very interesting article…I can only imagine the look on your Grandfather’s face!

Leave a Reply

