Skip to content

How working here has changed me

March 30, 2009

I moved to Tallahassee in December of 2005 to attend Florida State University.  It was my first time being completely on my own.  I loved the freedom of living alone and adjusted to being here pretty quickly.  The one thing that I had a really hard time getting used to, however, was feeding myself.  My mom had always made our dinner, and I had no idea how to cook anything but a grilled cheese.  I certainly didn’t have money to eat out every day.   My friends and I decided we would make dinner for each other to save money, so I gradually learned how to cook different things, but my motto was, “the easier, the better.”  I leaned toward canned and frozen veggies for side dishes because they were cheap, fast and, to be honest, I didn’t know how to prepare most fresh vegetables. 

Let’s flash forward to present day.  More than half of my shopping list gets crossed off in the fresh produce section.  I can’t even remember the last time I had canned green beans.  I know what is in season, why it’s good for me and (usually) how to prepare it.  I also know that fresh doesn’t always mean expensive, especially if something is in season.  Sometimes my mom even asks me questions about cooking! Working here has not only made me appreciate the food that I eat, but has inspired and motivated me to eat healthy and learn all that I can.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    March 30, 2009 9:16 am

    Good for you! It is nice to have a grocery list of fresh food rather than processed. It gives you a good feeling in the check out line.

  2. John & Yoko permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:38 am

    All we are saying…. is give peas a chance!

Leave a Reply

