Skip to content

Chick Magnet

April 3, 2009

I just got my Feed Store fix for the spring at Gramling’s on South Adams.  All my life, the Feed and Seed store has been a fixture.  Especially in spring.  I always enjoyed riding into Winter Haven to Mitchell’s Feed Store with my father and brothers.  Men’s work.

The promise of seeing a parked rail car, the smell of dusty feed and fertilizer, and spitting through the knotholes and cracks of the wooden floor were rights of passage for my brothers and me and hundreds of other kids throughout the years.  We always picked up wormer, wire, feed and a Coke.  We’re talking a big deal here.  Coke in your own six ounce glass bottle with the origin embossed on the bottom, pulled through the narrow glass door in the cooler.  Awesome! Then, with a Coke in a firm two handed grip, it was time to check out the condominium of poultry.  Multiple levels of chicks – chickens, ducks, quail. Poultry palooza.  The peeping of fuzzy yellow chicks is something you really can’t pass by without poking a finger to have them peck.  At three years old this is terrifying, but you adjust in time.

My father, being an Ag teacher,  always had incubators full of chicken eggs at our house.  This was cool because we would hatch out the chicks at home for some reason.  (If you haven’t guessed, my version of cool may not completely mesh with yours.)  The problem with a five year-old and chicks is that the five year-old wants to play with them.  So without fail, I would herd the chicks into the Fisher-Price school house.  Did you know you can stuff 14 chicks into the school house?  The chicks weren’t too impressed either.  Neither was Mom when she came in to find twenty chicks running loose in my bedroom.  How many guys can say that?

So, now when I get to feeling a little nostalgic, I check out the chicks at the feed store and have a Coke and a smile.  You just have to get your feed store fix sometimes.  It’s good for the soul.

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 6, 2009 7:19 am

    Ah, memories. I never had baby chics as a child but I admired ones my friends had.

  2. Melissa permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:11 am

    Chris, your blog entries make me laugh out loud! I think you’re on to a new trend – Fisher-Price Peepers.

  3. Terrie permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:43 pm

    My great-uncle owned a feed store and your blog brought back great memories. What was spring without adding a new chick to the pet menagerie? Ours did live in the barn and not a fancy Fisher-Price school house.

Leave a Reply

