Skip to content

Florida Blueberries in Stores Now

April 15, 2009

With the holidays last week and all of the activities that surround them, I admit I haven’t been to a grocery store in a while.  My pantry and refrigerator supplies are dwindling, so I need at some point this week to make the time to go and replenish them.

Today I was looking through grocery store circulars online (what a great feature!) and saw that Florida blueberries are in my local stores.  I LOVE blueberries – they just taste so wonderful.  Several years ago I spoke with a Florida blueberry grower who told me a delicious, decadent and easy way to prepare them.  Wash and shake dry a handful of blueberries, stick them in the freezer and then put them in a bowl and pour some cream over them.  The frozen berries start to freeze the cream and it is almost like fresh, homemade ice cream.  Yum!

The Department, of course, has recipes as well, and one of them is Chef Justin’s Blueberry Cobbler.  A coworker made it for the office shortly after the Flavorful Seasons cookbook came out and we all enjoyed it.

blueberrycobbler

Florida blueberries are an excellent source of antioxidants as well as a great dessert all on their own, satisfying even the pickiest sweet tooth.   No matter how you like to prepare them, pick some up while they’re in season and enjoy!

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jownby permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:01 am

    Oh – I love blueberries too!

  2. April 16, 2009 10:30 am

    That is interesting about freezing them with the cream. I used to get blueberry ice cream at a shop in Madison when I was a child. It was my absolute favorite… I got it every time we went. At some point the place turned into a U-Haul store and I’ve never had blueberry ice cream that was that good since! I’ll have to try your tip.

  3. Nicole permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:34 am

    The cobbler looks delicious. I’ll have to remember to pick up some blueberries next time I go to the store!

  4. Amber permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:21 pm

    I love blueberries! I’m going to have to make sure to pick some up the next time I’m at the grocery store now that they are in season.

Leave a Reply

