Skip to content

Gotta Love Mullet!

April 17, 2009

fisherman's favorite mullet sandwichMy favorite seafood hands down is mullet. Every couple of months or so I bribe my friends into taking a trip over to Panacea or Woodville to get my hands on some yummy fried mullet with a side of cheese grits and hush puppies.

I have noticed that many of my friends are hesitant to give mullet a try at all. I have heard, “It’s too fishy tasting.” Well, I think mullet is something that you have to try more than once before you write it off. I mean, when you were a child and your parents told you to eat your vegetables- you soon developed a taste for them. That is how I feel about mullet. From eating mullet as a small child I developed a longing for the unique taste and texture. There is really nothing like it!

If you are looking for some local restaurants that serve mullet or your favorite type of seafood, check out this list. The restaurants and retail markets have some type of Florida seafood available most times of the year.

What are your thoughts on mullet? No cracks about hair!

Bookmark and Share

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 7:34 am

    Yum! Mullet — you are making me hungry. Thanks for reminding me of enjoying this wonderful seafood.

  2. Paul Balthrop permalink
    April 17, 2009 7:41 am

    Glad to see your heart’s still in seafood. I agree. Mullet is one of the best. Nothing can compare if properly taken care of post-catch and prepared well.

  3. April 17, 2009 7:42 am

    Glad to see that the lowly mullet is getting some fanfare. Don’t forget to check out the mullet recipes on our FL-Seafood.com web site for some creative ways to fix mullet…although it is tough to beat that fried mullet sandwich. Yum!

  4. Laura permalink
    April 17, 2009 8:02 am

    I agree 100% with you. Mullett is the best seafood around. Thanks for letting other people know.

  5. April 17, 2009 8:26 am

    Hmmm… this makes me want to go give it a try! Even though I’m not so much a fan of seafood, I could eat some cheese grits though 🙂

  6. Ann permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:31 am

    Thanks for the inspiration, I’m going to try some mullet today 🙂

  7. Eric permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:05 am

    I have not eaten mullet in years but your blog makes me want some.It is neat casting nets for them which is also something i have not done recently.Will someone pass the cheese grits !

  8. jenn permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:29 am

    Sounds good! I just might have to try it!

  9. Donnie Kershaw permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:30 am

    That sandwich has just changed my lunch plans!

  10. Eileen permalink
    April 17, 2009 11:22 am

    That looks really good. I agree mullet is a very flavorfull fish. Mmmmmm….

  11. Mel Haugdahl permalink
    April 17, 2009 12:43 pm

    Fresh mullet is delicious. The Shriners used to have the very best fish fry using mullet, Don’t know if they still do that now.

  12. John Easley permalink
    April 17, 2009 1:04 pm

    I like mullet fried just like that picture. They’re great smoked too. I’m glad I already had lunch.

  13. Amie permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:07 pm

    Never tried it, but it looks YUMMY!

  14. Keith permalink
    April 18, 2009 10:49 am

    Smoked Mullet is the best!

  15. Christy permalink
    April 19, 2009 7:35 pm

    I have never tasted mullet but will now give it a try. It sounds delicious.

  16. Melinda permalink
    April 19, 2009 8:36 pm

    Cheese grits sound delicious!

  17. Hollis permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:48 am

    Nothing beats fresh mullet! And the best thing about it is it’s not only yummy to eat, but it’s great bait too! You can’t beat it!

  18. Mullet Tasker permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:37 pm

    I thought it was Florida law to be served fried mullet and grits on fridays in elementary school. A true mullet tasker will eat fried and smoked mullet at one sitting.

  19. Carol Duval permalink
    April 22, 2009 12:48 pm

    Smoked mullet dip another tasty treat!

Leave a Reply

