Skip to content

Experimenting with Zucchini

April 22, 2009

A few weeks ago blogger Terrie and I got into a conversation about green bean chips. She even wrote a post about them. Then I think someone else here started talking about other types of vegetable chips, and it got me thinking – I want to try to make some vegetable chips!

Well, I went home that night and had some zucchini in my fridge, so I thought, perfect, zucchini chips. Sounds simple right? Well, it actually is. I didn’t really use any particular recipe with them, I just looked at a couple on the internet and then went for it. I’m pretty sure I used allrecipes.com as the base for my recipe though. All you need is zucchini, breadcrumbs, grated parmesan cheese and eggs. As well as any dry spices you might like to add. I preheated the oven to a toasty 465 (recipe said 475 but that seemed too high, so 465) degrees and got to work.

img_0502I had three medium sized zucchini on hand, so I rinsed those off and cut them into about 1/4th inch slices. (as you can see in the picture, they are no where near perfect). I didn’t have Italian seasoned breadcrumbs on hand, all’s I had was regular. So I used a couple cups of breadcrumbs, then added in some random spices, salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. It’s up to you what you want to use. Take two egg whites and put those in a separate bowl. Take your sliced zucchini and dip it in the egg img_0511whites, then into the breadcrumbs. Place on cookie sheet. Make sure to spray the cookie sheet with cooking spray so they won’t stick. Then bake for like 5 – 7 minutes, turn them over, and bake another 5 – 7 minutes and you have zucchini chips!

I have to say they were pretty good, but nothing like chips, more like sort of crunchy baked zucchini but I thought they were really good. Maybe I should have baked them on a lower temperature and for longer? I’m not sure, but I know they started burning so I took them out. But all in all, a really simple, quick and easy recipe to try at home – and best of all, pretty healthy (atleast I think so). So give it a try at home. Have you ever made any type of baked vegetable chip before?

img_0520

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 1:17 pm

    those look pretty good! just using the whites make it a lot healthier than using a whole egg.

    i had okra chips that were like terrie’s green bean chips. i even brought some in for her to try – she said the okra ones were even better than the green beans.

  2. Terrie permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:09 pm

    You all make me so proud with your healthy eating. Watch for carrot fries coming soon to Phase 3 recipes of the Fresh from Florida Kids .

  3. Nicole permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:36 pm

    Those look wonderful. I will have to give it a try.

  4. Chris permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:51 pm

    This sounds great. I might take it a step further and add a fresh tomato sauce for dipping. I usually buy the ripe bruised tomatoes from a produce stand (Make a deal for all they have). You will need to cut some bad spots out, but once you’ve cleaned them, you just boil them down, mash them up and add seasonings of yor choice. You can take out seeds, but I leave them in. This can be canned this for use in Italian dishes – Spaghetti, Ziti, Lasagna, etc., too.

Leave a Reply

