Skip to content

What’s not to love ?

April 24, 2009

Florida watermelon is in season!  I love this time of year.  Not because I grow watermelon, sell watermelon or have a daughter in the watermelon queen contest.  Nope, it’s the pure, simple pleasure I know is coming for the next couple of months of enjoying Florida watermelon.  Watermelon slices, watermelon salads,  watermelon sorbet, seared watermelon on the grill, watermelon for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Chef Justin recently added a new watermelon sandwich to his list of recipes. This sandwich is going to the top of my  list of ‘any excuse to eat watermelon’.  And if you are going to eat a slice of watermelon don’t forget the salt.  I can hear the moans now.  I think it must be , dare I say, a Yankee thing. But nothing brings out the sweet flavor of a melon like a dash of salt. Try it, you’ll like it.

sdsdls-slc-w-melon-hi1

My family calls me a little watermelon crazy but what can you expect from someone who had a mom who craved nothing but watermelon  while pregnant, in the winter in West Virginia.  Luckily, we had family connections in the produce business or I could have ended up loving  ramps.

For my money nothing beats watermelon.If you are hungry it fills you up and if you are thirsty it sure takes care of that.  If you are bored, well those seeds can entertain for hours.  You thought I was going to say something else didn’t you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:34 pm

    Watermelon was my #1 crave while pregnant. I know a few other people who felt the same! I still love watermelon. It is a delicious, low calorie snack.

  2. Richard D permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:30 pm

    My family was at a community fish fry last year where everything was deep fried, fish, frog legs, ect. toward the end of the fry the cook said is there any thing else anybody wants fried. My son walked up and handed him a piece of Watermelon, he diped it in beer batter and droped it in the frier. he gave it to my son, who poped it in his mouth, and after he quit screaming from the scalding water running down his chin he said it was good, so the rest of us tried, it but after it cooled.
    I am sure it is on the menu again this year, along with deep fried Ramps “yes we are from the great state of West Virginia” so give deep fried watermelon a try, just wait until it cools.

  3. Ramp-a-licious permalink
    May 11, 2009 1:13 pm

    My great grandparents were in the Produce business in West Virginia as well. (Yeah-yeah…insert familial relations jokes here!) Hard to keep round melons in a field on a 45 degree incline so it makes sense to take on ramps for snacking.

    Ramps sound interesting. Garlic breath and onion breath together in one package. And to think John Denver and Emmylou Harris left them out of songs about the Wild and Wonderful state.

Leave a Reply

