Skip to content

I don’t think I’ve read a cookbook in 2009

April 30, 2009

I love the internet.  You can literally find anything on here these days.  Having all this information at my fingertips has really expanded my recipe collection!

Maybe I’m weird, but I like looking up recipes and trying to decide what I want to cook.  With that being said, I wanted to share with you a few of my favorite places to find ideas for dinner (besides, of course, the Florida Chef and Fl-Ag).

1. All recipes
If you’ve never visited All recipes, then welcome to the internet! This is definitely one of the best recipe sites around.  I even have a cookbook of their top rated recipes from a few years ago.  My favorite feature on this website is the ratings/comments section.  Another good feature is the recipe box where you can save your favorite recipes to view later.  You can read suggestions, how other people liked the dish, etc.  I’m pretty sure every recipe ever written is on this site.
Goodies from my All recipes recipe box: Mango-licious Tilapia, Spinach Chick Pea Curry (use fresh basil and garlic and substitute canned for the fresh creamed corn you just made)
Also – I made this last night, and it was great! A good recipe to use some of that mint growing in your garden.

2. epicurious
It’s little more upscale than All recipes, as most of the recipes are from Bon Appétit and Gourmet (epicurious is owned by Condé Naste).  I always go straight to the “seasonal cooking” section – We all know why seasonal is better, but it’s also usually the same as what’s on sale in the grocrey stores.  The recipes are very inspiring, and you’ll definitely be able to find something you’ve never tried before.  The only downside is that there aren’t that many reviews on the recipes.
Can’t wait to try: Tomato and Watermelon Salad, Grilled Chicken Salad with Radishes, Cucumbers and Tarragon Pesto

3. foodnetwork.com
Pick your favorite chef and go!  I like Ina Garten and Alton Brown best.  Recipes are also sorted by ingredients, holidays, courses, etc.   There are tons of ideas for any day of the week.

4. About.com: Food and Drink
I usually end up on one of the many sub sections of this website when I do a google search for a recipe.  I have made a number of things from here that turned out great! And there are some really helpful articles.  Just a taste of the numerous sub pages: grilling, cooking for two, kids’ foodfrench, southern.
Mmm: I could use the rosemary growing at my house for this one – Rosemary Lemon Drop

5. Publix Apron’s
I used this a lot when I was first starting to cook.  I have to admit, I rarely look at this site now, but it is a really good tool for cooking on a budget.  Publix coordinates their recipes with what’s on sale so you can save some money and make a good dinner.  Another cool thing is that it will make your grocery list for you and divide it up by section.  Personally, I don’t like how some of the recipes call for canned/frozen ingredients, but you can always substitute for fresh!
Simple and tasty: I made this once and my friends loved it – Just sub frozen for fresh Florida shrimp and use low-fat or fat-free mayo so it’s not so unhealthy.  P.S. peach salsa is down the international aisle.

There are a few other sites and a ton of blogs that I frequent, but we will save those for another day!

What are your favorite websites to find recipes and read about food??

image from flickr.

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 30, 2009 11:22 am

    Thanks for the tips! I use the Food Network site a lot. They have never steered me wrong! And of course the FL-Ag recipes.

    • April 30, 2009 3:23 pm

      Yeah, FN has a really nice selection. I look through Paula Deen’s recipes when I want to make a dessert.

  2. Buddy Crocker permalink
    May 7, 2009 9:50 am

    The only problem with the internet sites is overload. Try looking up a general recipe like Seafood Gumbo or Baked Ziti on Google and you are quick to find that there are over 150,000 recipes. Whatever you do, don’t forget which one you liked! My father spends 30 minutes looking up recipes and two hours trying to find them again. Searching the recipes within a few sites saves time.

    There can be no electronic substitute for Mom’s 1960, broken binding, gingham pattern Better Homes and Gardens Binder CookBook with notes, spatters and inserted handwritten favorites, though. I think that was a requisite for a marriage license at the time.

    • May 7, 2009 10:38 am

      That’s why you use Allrecipes or another one where you can save the ones you like! Or you can always bookmark them .

      I have a Betty Crocker cookbook from the 1960s. It has all the classic dinner party recipes. You can’t beat a good jello mold!

Leave a Reply

