Skip to content

My pets and my fruits and veggies

May 4, 2009

Every time I shop for delicious Florida watermelons I make sure to buy one large enough to share with my Basset Hounds Barney and Lily.  They love the sweet watermelon scent and it’s so refreshing for them in the hot summer!

It’s fun to see how they learn to eat fruits and veggies. Once they become familiar with produce scent, texture and flavor they eat it immediately.  If I offer them something new they’re more skeptical to try it. While I cook they enjoy eating crunchy carrots or they munch on some natural air popped corn when we’re watching a movie.

My pets are an important part of my family and they deserve a good nutrition as well.  Even though I’m always checking on produce I shouldn’t feed my pets with, the ones I do makes them feel happy.

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Terrie permalink
    May 4, 2009 3:25 pm

    You are the best pet owner ever! I have not tried watermelon (for shame) for Buddy the psychotic cat but he loves cantaloupe.

  2. Nicole permalink
    May 5, 2009 3:53 pm

    I have never thought to feed my dog fruits and veggies. Her treat these days consists of cheerios that are dropped on the floor by my little one!

Leave a Reply

