Skip to content

How to do easy landscaping on your yard

May 19, 2009

landscaping imagesMy yards have good potential to do beautiful landscaping with Florida plants. I would like to save some money and do it myself.  However, just the thought of how to begin was overwhelming for me.  Which plants are suitable for the climate? Do I want annual or perennials? How do I irrigate them? Do I need fertilizers and pesticides? How do I get rid of the weed? 

Luckily, I found simple answers to my questions at www.floridayards.org and our own Fresh from Florida Gardener web page. The County Extension Offices also have well trained Master Gardeners that answer particular horticulture questions in your area.

My favorite part will be visiting the local nurseries to purchase the plants. It’s a unique and enchanting experience. Not only you get to hang out in a beautiful garden surrounded by water fountains, birds and butterflies (some of them even have cafés) but you have the chance to talk to the gardeners about how to best handle your plant materials according to your needs.

When I’m stressed getting in contact with nature helps me feel much better. Don’t ask me how this happens but it’s true.  If you’ve had a rough week, go visit a nursery in your town. It’s a great therapy and you’re supporting the local producers.  Hanging baskets and orchids are the latest trendy gift!

Tall.Nurseries Orchids 090

I’m excited to learn and become involved in my yards’  landscaping design. Palms, yuccas, azaleas, grasses, fruit trees… there are so many native varieties and colors to choose from. I hope my neighbors get jealous when I’m done!

Have you worked on your yard lately?

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 3:14 pm

    Hi Marisol! Your excitement is contagious. Good news — if you go native, you can worry a lot less about water restrictions! Properly selected natives, once established in your landscape, will do just fine on rainfall. And fortunately, we’re starting to get some rainfall!

    Consult with your local native nursery to find out which native habitats are good bases for design and plant selection. Check out nearby parks and preserves for design ideas — pinelands, hammocks, dunes and yes, even swamps provide some great collections of native plants that are beautiful, hardy, and thrive with what Mother Nature provides. You get them started, and then sit back and enjoy!

    And natives will combine beautifully with your edible crops, bringing in pollinators to keep your kitchen garden going strong!

    Have fun — and keep us posted as your garden grows!

  2. Chris permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:05 pm

    One of the best ways I have found to “design” your landscape is to drive around town and take pictures or notes of what you like and what works in similar light and soil conditions as your home.

    Having worked with hundreds of wholesale nursery owners for several years across the Southeast, I always found it amusing how few of them had little or no landscaping at their own homes.

  3. Nicole permalink
    May 20, 2009 8:43 am

    You’ll have to post some photos when you are done landscaping!

Trackbacks

  1. How to do easy landscaping on your yard « Fresh from Florida | Steep Hill Landscaping

Leave a Reply

