Skip to content

Florida’s Big Garden

May 20, 2009

Sterling planted a bean in Chef Justin‘s window a few weeks ago, and we have enjoyed watching it grow every day.  It’s pretty cool that a big plant started out as a tiny bean.  It got me thinking about how different fruits and veggies look when they are growing.

Even though I’m from a small country town (Madison Co. shout out), I am basically clueless when it comes to growing anything.   I thought it’d be cool to get some pictures of different crops growing in a garden or on a farm and share with you all. Click on the pictures to go to the original and see a larger version.

Warning: lots of pictures, may take a second to load

avocado

AVOCADOS - they look like green pears to me

bellpeppers

PEPPERS - cool, someone was growing in pots in their back yard!

cabbage

CABBAGES - i think cabbage is so pretty. it always reminds me of cabbage patch dolls when i see it in the ground like this.

BLUEBERRIES - on a farm

BLUEBERRIES - on a farm

CARAMBOLA - also called starfruit

CARAMBOLA - also called starfruit

CARROTS - in someone's garden

CARROTS - in someone's garden

CAULIFLOWER

CAULIFLOWER - pretty

CUCUMBER - this one will be a pickle!

CUCUMBER - this one will be a pickle!

MANGOES - a whole tree of 'em. i wish i could have this in my backyard!

MANGOES - a whole tree of 'em. i wish i could have this in my backyard!

OKRA - pretty cool

OKRA - pretty cool

STRAWBERRIES - strawberry plants are so pretty

STRAWBERRIES - strawberry plants are so pretty. the berries look like little hearts hanging down.

Do you have any fruits or veggies growing in your garden or on your farm? Please share pictures!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    May 20, 2009 4:32 pm

    Fruit and vegetable blossoms are some of the prettiest flowers. My favorite is citrus blossoms. if you have ever been through Polk County in March, you will understand. The scent of orange blossoms smells like my childhood. I never knew I missed it until I moved to Mobile, AL where the neighbors had an acre of satsumas (tangerines). Each spring I would drag the kids out to the trees and make them smell the blossoms, which they thought was the dumbest thing. Now thier childhood smells like mine.

Leave a Reply

