Skip to content

There is no short cut

June 12, 2009

diet booksThere are thousands of diets and quick fixes out there. Most of them you’re either starving yourself or going to some extreme. Recently, I gave something a try. I came across the “Flat Belly Diet” . It’s all about avoiding foods that cause bloating and belly fat. First of all let me tell you, according to the book, just about everything you eat causes bloating.

I decided instead of putting myself through a strict diet, which by the way, I do not like the word “diet,” I would do what they recommend as a four day “jump start metabolism booster.” Sounds serious, doesn’t it? I went to the grocery store and bought everything the book told me to get – chicken breast, sunflower seeds, flaxseed oil, carrots, green beans, applesauce, lactose -free skim milk and string cheese, just to name a few. Seventy dollars later I had everything I needed to jump start my metabolism. Oh, did I mention no salt (which isn’t that big of a deal for me)?

I made a commitment to myself that I would give it a try, not to mention I was out of $70 so there was no turning back. All I can say is the four day “jump start metabolism booster” was not for me. I literally tortured myself for four days. Maybe I was a little less bloated, who knows, but it didn’t seem to matter to me.

What did matter, I realized, was that I didn’t need some quick fix or shortcut to give me results. I already knew what works. All I need is to exercise and watch what I eat. Regardless of what you may think or what some book may tell you, the good old-fashioned way is still the best way. I’m all about keeping the weight off and making good food choices. That’s not a diet…..that’s a healthy lifestyle.

photo from flickr

Bookmark and Share

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 2:33 pm

    Thanks for the excellent reminder and common sense. Great article! My husband and I are taking on health as our number one project right now. I love him and want to be together for a long time.

    • Yolanda permalink
      June 15, 2009 10:06 am

      It’s great that you and your husband are taking on the task together. Having a buddy makes it a little easier and more fun. Keep up the good work! Keep me posted on your progress.

  2. Nicole permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:18 pm

    I do not like the word “diet” either! You are right, there is no quick fix. It is best to eat smart by making healthy food choices, drink plenty of water and exercise daily.

    • Yolanda permalink
      June 15, 2009 10:16 am

      You’re absolutely right about drinking water. That is a key component.

  3. Howard permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:21 pm

    There seems to be no way around “portion control” and “exercise.” I find that those fad diets are only beneficial for occasion in which you have to take pictures in a week like a wedding or vacation, for example. However, they tend to hold no sustainable merit for losing weight. Don’t all around disregard fad diets because they can help you make your favorite pair of jeans fit perfectly on vacation.

    • Yolanda permalink
      June 15, 2009 10:22 am

      Sometimes there may be a need for a quick solution. Trying to lose those stubborn 10 pounds before the big day. But sometimes after you reach your goal for that special occassion, you’re so excitied that you forget that you need to go back to the portion control and exercise to maintain it.

  4. June 14, 2009 7:14 pm

    Summed up beautifully!

    Now, if only I didn’t have to excercise…actually, I do like excercise. It’s just that it’s so cold here at the moment…

    • Yolanda permalink
      June 15, 2009 10:26 am

      I know, some days can be harder than others when it comes to exercising. It;s hard to leave your house when it’s cold outside. Try a good exercise video on those days.

  5. June 19, 2010 11:34 am

    There is a easy way in metabolism foods and boosters. But this cannot take over benefits of physical activity.

Leave a Reply

