Skip to content

Oystertown

July 8, 2009

Delicious Florida Oysters

Delicious Florida Oysters

A few weekends back I was able to go to one of my favorite places – Apalachicola. There is something about the quaint little town and the sight of shrimp and oyster boats on the horizon that draws people to it time and time again. On our trip we had one mission – to eat Florida oysters. Apalachicola is known for their tasty bay oysters. I’ll go out on a limb and call them the best oysters I have ever eaten.

I’ll start with our first stop- Boss Oyster Restaurant, with a sign out front that said “Welcome to Oystertown!” We opted for a dozen steamed oysters and Oyster Monterey, or baked oysters with delicious hand-picked blue crab, sherry and Monterey cheese. Just as we were about to leave, I noticed a lady at a table next to mine had ordered an oyster po’ boy. It looked so delicious and was large enough for about three people to share. Had I not been stuffed from the baked oysters I would have ordered one to go!

Now that we were nice and full, we headed down the little streets to explore. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a sidewalk sign advertising tupelo honey. I went in the store and not only did I leave with a cute little honey filled bear, I learned about where tupelo honey comes from and about its role in the movie Ulee’s Gold (now on my Netflix queue!)

Tupelo Honey

I had one last stop to make in Apalachicola. Each year I attend the Florida Seafood Festival the first weekend in November. (For a list of all the seafood festivals in Florida, click here.) Last year I noticed an exhibit from the Apalachicola Sponge Company. Their natural sponges are caught in the Gulf and they are the softest, most luxurious bath sponges. So after a quick stop in their store I was set!

Apalachicola is truly a unique place. There is nowhere else quite like it!

Bookmark and Share

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 9:13 am

    For information about restaurants and things to do in Apalachicola go to http://www.apalachicolabay.org

    • Nicole permalink
      July 10, 2009 8:39 am

      Anita knows everything there is to know about Apalach!

  2. Alec permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:17 am

    Boss Oyster stacks their po’ boys so high you can barely see the bread. Man do I love oysters!!!

  3. July 9, 2009 9:39 am

    Great article. Love that Florida seafood!

  4. John permalink
    July 9, 2009 10:05 am

    You made me want an oyster po-boy bad!

  5. July 9, 2009 2:42 pm

    Thanks for the great blog. The oyster fishermen work so hard out on the bay to bring us the delicious oysters. Hope you saw them with their tongs working away.
    I am so ready for a po-boy!!!!

  6. AmyLynne permalink
    July 9, 2009 4:47 pm

    I agree Boss Oyster is the best place to go. Oyster Bienville (Chopped Shrimp, Mushrooms, Garlic, Cheddar Cheese) is my favorite. http://www.apalachicolariverinn.com/boss.html

    Ben Lanier , from Wewa, collects the best honey. Swing by and meet Ben sometime and ask him to tell you his bear stories. You might have to hunt him down at Beacon Hill (near Mexico Beach). http://www.lltupelohoney.com/

  7. Phyllis permalink
    July 13, 2009 10:04 am

    Great place for history buffs. We stayed at the Coombs Inn B&B this weekend. Highly recommend it and taking the walking tour. Also visited the sponge as well as other shops and, of course, Boss. The sushi grade crusted tuna is great!

Leave a Reply

