Skip to content

Grow your own flavor…

July 10, 2009

HerbsI am a huge fan of growing herbs for cooking. It is one of the easiest ways to get great flavor into your dishes and help cut down on fat and sodium at the same time. I have replaced most of my dried herbs that have been sitting in my spice cabinet (for who knows how long) with fresh, fragrant bouquets.

Fresh herbs take a small investment upfront, but can continue to yield year after year with little maintenance. Currently I have rosemary, oregano, basil, bay leaf, mint and parsley growing in small pots in my yard. They add the most incredible flavor to my dishes. There is no comparison to the spices that come in dried form.

If you do a simple search for “home herb gardens” on the internet, there is so much information out there. If I could recommend one, Hub Pages is a site that I particularly like.

Do you grow your own herbs?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 3:27 pm

    I’ve been growing rosemary, basil and mint this year. It is so great to have fresh herbs always available. I’ll be planting some more next spring.

  2. Chris permalink
    July 13, 2009 5:01 pm

    I grow my own herbs. Basil, Cilantro and Oregano mostly. Watch the Rosemary as it will become a tree looking to take over the garden. It’s good for fragrance during the holidays as it smells like a Christmas Tree explosion.

    Growing in pots is easy as they are very adaptable and multiple varieties can be grown together in a large pot. They are also pretty as an in-ground garden as well and can be an inexpensive backyard backdrop or focal point.

Leave a Reply

