Skip to content

Is it steamy in here?

July 16, 2009

steamerMy favorite kitchen gadget has to be my steamer/rice cooker. I have begun to rely on this device for many meals. I can cook a complete dinner in no time. With a hearty brown rice or grain in the bottom and veggies or protein on top, dinner cooks itself.

Cooking with steam is super healthy and light, but that does not mean flavorless. Just like any other cooking, it is all about building layers of flavor. When I cook my rice, I don’t just use plain water. I always use a vegetable stock, fresh garlic and spices to give the rice a good starting flavor. To prep my veggies, I toss them with good olive oil and spices; this also adds great flavor. Just before I serve the veggies, I add some fresh chopped herbs to really bring up the flavor.

I recommend a steamer for everyone wanting to make a difference in the way they eat. Most plug-in models are around $50 and are worth every penny. Here is the unit I am using at home.

Photo from Flickr

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 9:16 am

    sounds great …could I throw in some FL wild shrimp in there too?

  2. Chef Justin permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:22 am

    Steaming is a wonderful way to cook Florida seafood!
    Letting the natural taste shine through! Love that FL seafood!

Leave a Reply

