Skip to content

Florida Pink Shrimp – Sweet and Delicious

July 17, 2009

Last night I was craving chicken and shrimp curry.  My grocery store not only had wild caught Florida pink shrimp, but they were on sale!  This was a double treat; if the shrimp aren’t wild caught or are farm raised in other countries, I tend to avoid them because some countries use antibiotics in the water.

Artist rendering of a delicious Florida shrimp

Artist rendering of a delicious Florida shrimp

Wild caught shrimp are delicious and have a sweet flavor and a nice firm texture.  As the name implies, they are pink when raw as well as when cooked.  Shrimp aren’t something I usually think of cooking during the week, but I’m going to start because these were easy to peel and didn’t need much cleaning at all.

Once the shrimp were peeled, I heated a little oil in a sauté pan with garlic powder, black pepper and ground coriander (cilantro) and some cubed chicken.  After a few minutes, I poured in lite coconut milk and curry powder.  It needed something, so I threw in a pinch of ground red pepper and some crystallized ginger.  That really rounded out the flavor.  The shrimp went in for three minutes, then I poured it over rice with a toasted coconut garnish.  Yum!

Since these were so easy, I started thinking of all the ways I could cook shrimp.  How do you like to cook shrimp?  For delicious meal ideas, check out our Bureau of Seafood’s shrimp recipes.  You’ll be happy you did!

Bookmark and Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    July 20, 2009 8:30 am

    Shrimp Ettoufe is favorite of mine. Having moved to Tallahassee from Alabama, I lived less than ten miles from Bayou la Batre, Alabama, storied home of the Bubba Gump Shrimp Company in the film Forest Gump. Down there we ate shrimp gumbo, boiled shrimp, fried shrimp, garlic shrimp, coconut shrimp, steamed shrimp, shrimp stir-fry, shrimp and grits, BBQ Shrimp, shrimp salad, shrimp creole, shrimp fetucine Alfredo, shrimp cocktail, shrimp scampi…….I reckon that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

