Skip to content

Get “Boot Camp” Fit!

July 28, 2009
Photo courtesy of Boot Camps To Go

Photo courtesy of Boot Camps To Go

Last summer my mom came over to my house looking like she had been running through a sprinkler. When I asked where she had been she told me boot camp, her three times a week exercise program. She and a friend were taking a month’s session and she told me about all the squats, lunges and all sorts of exercises she could do now. My mom and I were planting a garden and when she was able to lift the 40lb bag of potting soil that I couldn’t, I knew I needed a little boot camp myself.

So this summer I signed up for the July session to find out what boot camp was all about. On the first day I found out they do fitness the old-fashioned way: with sit-ups, push-ups, pull-ups, running and a whole lot of sweat. My first goal was simple: to be able to carry my two year old around without my arms aching. I achieved that goal and so much more!

The exciting part about boot camp is that it is never the same. Each session has a new and challenging element to it. Last week we flipped tires. Today we lifted a telephone pole over our heads. My favorite aspect I have learned so far is how to swing a kettlebell. Kettlebell workouts are great for increasing strength, agility, endurance and balance.

If you are not local, you might want to check online if there is a boot camp near you. I have a friend in Virginia who is enrolled in a boot camp and we are doing similar things at the same time.

Along with any exercise program, remember to eat right. Here are some recipes to help you incorporate fresh fruits and vegetables into your diet. Encourage healthy habits with your children, too, so they grow up with the foundation for a fit life.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle Sandoz permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:19 am

    Wow! That sounds like a lot of fun! I love to be see how far I can push myself! I have such a busy schedule, but looked at the website and the times are perfect! I am definitely going to check more into this!

    • Nicole permalink
      July 28, 2009 9:30 am

      You should do it, Danielle. It is the best workout I have ever had!

  2. Alec permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:22 am

    So I’ll be flipping tires to lose my spare tire…Great!!!

  3. Barbera Turnbull permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:40 am

    I’m impressed! Does this mean that you also “run the stairs” at the Mayo? Keep up the good work!

  4. Bethany permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:47 am

    I’ve always wanted to try boot camp. Way to go to you and Mom!!

Leave a Reply

