Skip to content

Struggling to Eat Healthy

July 31, 2009
yummy delicious goodness

yummy delicious goodness

Alright, I confess, I am a fast food addict. Or I used to be at least. Back in April I came to the realization that I was eating way too much fast food (and seeing the physical effects of it) and the mentality “what’s one more double cheeseburger and large fry going to do?” had to go. The thing is I LOVE a double cheeseburger and french fries, so I knew this was going to be hard.  I decided to cut back (not cut out!) how much fast food I ate and basically completely stop drinking sodas. It was challenging and very difficult, I will say. However, I’ve found this method works for me – and might for you.

I didn’t cut out fast food completely – however, I only allow myself to eat “fast food” (McD, Wendys, Chick Fil A breakfast), maybe once every three weeks. As for soda, well, I “treat” myself to ONE Coke every Friday. I love Coke and I can’t give it completely up. Honestly, Diet Coke just doesn’t do it for me, so to me that is a great compromise.

The best part is, I’ve been able to tell a difference! Just from cutting out soda and cutting back on fast food, I lost weight.

My other struggle has been what I eat at home. Sometimes I just don’t want to cook. Anything. So I’d rather eat that box of mac n cheese in my cabinet than prepare an entire meal. I understand, it’s going to happen, I’m going to make the mac n cheese and it’s probably going to be really good, but I can’t get mad at myself. I just need to realize it and make a better effort next time to not give in.

What I have been doing is making small changes here and there. For instance, I only buy wheat bread and pasta now. I make sure to incorporate vegetables into dinner for each meal (whether fresh or frozen). I only drink water at most meals. I buy healthy snacks for my house, like carrots and hummus or cut up apples. I believe in taking small steps and then moving to bigger changes. Incorporating more produce into each of my meals has been my biggest effort thus far.

So I’ve shared my secret love for fast food – what about you? Are you making any changes to your diet to be a little more healthy?

Photo from Flickr

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2009 3:23 pm

    man, those fries look good. 🙂 but yes, you’ve done a really good job! i’m trying to stop eating at chain restaurants as much as possible. food is way more likely to be fresh (and from the area) if i eat somewhere locally owned.

    • April 2, 2010 2:19 pm

      locally grown is best ! We grow local and we eat right out of the garden everyday!!

  2. Nicole permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:25 am

    I have cut cokes out too except for Friday nights! And if I am having a terrible day or something. 🙂 Great work Sterling- I know it is hard to resist fast food.

  3. August 3, 2009 1:12 pm

    Thanks girls! It is a struggle, but the longer you go, the easier it becomes. Now if only I could take this dedication and apply it to working out, I’d be in great shape 🙂

Leave a Reply

