Skip to content

Community Farmers’ Markets

August 5, 2009

How often do you visit your local farmers’ market? In theory, visiting your local community farmers’ market on a regular basis sounds like a good idea. To me it sounds awesome, but realistically does it happen as often as I’d like? No. Every Saturday, the thought of driving to our downtown farmers’ market sounds like a great idea, but do I do it? Not very often. It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s just that my Saturday gets away from me before I know it and I usually grocery shop on Sundays anyway.

So where does that leave me? Well, I am determined later this fall and spring when all of Florida’s produce comes in season, to make weekly trips to our downtown community farmers’ market. Not only does it save me money by purchasing produce in season, it’s fresh and SO good. Here in Tallahassee, we’re lucky because we have several markets to choose from.

Our State Farmers’ Market bureau has compiled a list of all the community farmers’ markets in Florida that they know about. You can view that list here. I went through almost the entire list and was delighted to see that at least half the markets had a website, which makes for more convenient access to times and locations. Check the website out!

community farmers market web page+

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

