Skip to content

Craving a Casserole

October 27, 2009

casserolesFor some strange reason, I really wanted a make a casserole this weekend.  It’s especially strange for me because I never make them.  It’s not that I really have anything against casseroles… they’re basically a full meal in one dish. Who wouldn’t like that? The only problem I have with casseroles is that most of them called for cream-of-whatever soup and a bunch of other processed/canned stuff. I don’t really enjoy cooking with these shortcuts, and it’s definitely not the way I want to eat.  So it took a little digging, but I found a casserole recipe that is fast, wholesome, cheap and is made from scratch.

I found this recipe for a zucchini casserole and made some changes to make it how I wanted. It turned out really well and gave me some leftovers for lunch the next day. I especially loved the crunchiness of the corn flakes. My boyfriend said he would like it better with more cheese (maybe you could put a layer on the top), but I thought it was just fine with what it had. I’m sure you could also add some meat in there if you wanted to. Right now is a good time to make this since Florida zucchini, peppers and tomatoes are all about to be in season!

Zucchini Casserole

Ingredients

  • 7-8 cups Florida zucchini, sliced into 1/2 rounds then cut in half
  • 1 bell pepper, diced (whichever color you prefer)
  • 1 1/4 cups cornflakes cereal, separated (or Italian bread crumbs will work)
  • 1 cup grated Cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2-3 tablespoons fresh basil or 2 tsp dried (I also sprinkled a mix of dried Italian seasoning in mine)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Florida tomato, sliced

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly oil a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except 1/4 cup cereal and tomato.  Spread evenly into prepared dish.  Top with tomato slices.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Top with remaining 1/4 cup cereal or bread crumbs during the last 15 minutes.

Note: You can use a 8×8 baking dish, just leave in a few minutes longer.

image from flickr

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    October 28, 2009 1:11 pm

    Sounds great Sarah, and perfect for upcoming holiday get togethers.

Leave a Reply

