Skip to content

I’ve got a new goal!

April 2, 2010

I’ve got a new goal – run a 5K on May 1. I’ve never been a runner, ever. I used to be somewhat athletic in high school and considered myself pretty physically fit in college. Then I got my first desk job when I was 23 and it went downhill from there.

This is an advertisement we ran last year. Seemed appropriate.

So with this new goal, I’ve been exercising and attempting to get back in shape. Today will complete my first week. I’ve been doing a mix of running and walking, trying to just get used to working out again. So with this new exercise routine, I knew I needed to re-address my eating habits again. Last summer I wrote a post on my struggle against fast food, and I can happily say – I pretty much still go by those rules I set for myself. But my habits haven’t been great as of late, I’ve slacked a bit over the past few months.

So this week I’ve tried to be a lot more conscious of what I’m eating. I made a delicious recipe that Chef Justin made last week at a demo, a sausage and corn succotash (very similar to this but more ingredients) and it was great! Simple, healthy and full of vegetables. I also been concentrating on trying to eat three meals a day and NOT skip breakfast. That is definitely a work in progress.

I’m not biased, but Chef Justin really does have some good recipes on his website, The Florida Chef, and we will be updating it very soon with a ton more recipes to check out.

There are also a few blogs I read for healthy ideas including:

Cheap Healthy Good

Simply Recipes

Smitten Kitchen

My goal now is to cook 1 new thing a week that is healthy and tasty! And I’ll try to remember to post my successes (and I’m sure some failures) on here!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 5, 2010 12:41 pm

    Good job Sterling! Are you doing the Palace 5K? I may see you there!

Leave a Reply

