Skip to content

Strawberry Shortcake

April 16, 2010

I thought I’d share a quick, easy and very simple Strawberry Shortcake recipe a friend told me about. Since strawberries are super cheap right now (at Publix they are 4/$5.00 – unheard of!) I’ve been buying them a little more frequently. But I’m running out of ideas of what to do with them, besides eat them as is.

Picture is from my phone, not the best quality... but you get the idea.

So my friend told me a quick, modified version of strawberry shortcake. It’s simple – chop up some strawberries, mix them with some whipped cream and put it on top of either angel food cake or those little individual shortcakes (I think that’s what they are called) they sell in the produce section. And there you go, simple, easy and delicious! That has been my dessert the past two nights and let me just say, it is so good! And easy which is my favorite part.

One of my favorite new blogs I’ve discovered is “Our Life In The Kitchen” by Karen Bove. She actually won a contest we held a month or two ago and I checked out her blog and have been hooked ever since. She did an entire week of strawberry recipes a couple weeks ago and it is definitely worth checking out. Some of her recipes included: Strawberry Margaritas (yum!), Chicken with Strawberries, Shallots and Tarragon, Spinach Strawberry Salad and Strawberries and Lavender Shortcake (beat mine by a mile!)

So, what’s your favorite way to eat strawberries?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:38 am

    Love them right off the plant although you really need to wash them first. It’s just hard to let them wait that long. Also in a box with a fox, in a house with a mouse, on the loose with a moose, on my bum with some rum. There are just no bad ways to enjoy fresh, ripe Florida strawberries. Having worked in Plant City and having a “Strawberry Girl” for a grandmother, I have seen nearly every way imaginaeble and enjoyed them all.

Leave a Reply

