Skip to content

Information Overload?

April 19, 2010

It’s been a while since I’ve written a post on social media, so I figured maybe it’s time to write something. I feel like there is so much new information on social media out there each day, that it is kind of hard to wrap your head around it.

There are a few sites I check regularly to find out the latest in the social media world.

My favorite hands down is Mashable. They seem to know things that happen before they happen. If I want the latest news, tips, statistics, trends – they are where I go.

I also enjoy reading the New York Times Media & Advertising section as well. Always well written and very informative.

Next I utilize Twitter for social media updates. I follow a variety of news services and advertising/PR agencies that specialize in social media. Some of the best in my opinion are:

I wouldn’t really recommend cluttering your feed with social media ‘gurus’ because half the time they aren’t. They just post too much. You can learn a lot on your own just through trial and error. That’s how we’ve learned.

Lastly, subscribe to some daily social media email newsletters. SmartBrief on Social Media is really good. I get most of their updates in my Twitter, but getting the recap e-newsletter is also nice in case I miss something.

Are there any other good ones out there I’m missing?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 10:46 am

    Being involved with social media can be avery overwhelming..another thing to add to our already full plates. Your suggestions for socialmedia were great, and in fact I linked up with sites from the sites your recommended…Thanks…

    I am now crafting my approach to social media…

Leave a Reply

