Skip to content

The Non-Parent Part 2

May 4, 2010

This is a continuation of my last post, The Non-Parent, on childhood obesity and raising a nation of healthy kids.  In that post, I pondered how many “non-parents” were aware of this ongoing epidemic and threw out a few statistics to get everyone up to speed.

My question today is: If I don’t have a kid, why should I care?

I realize that sounds a little harsh, but it’s an honest question.  If I didn’t work here and I was reading this, I’d be thinking, “I have a hard enough time taking care of myself. Now this chick is asking me to start worrying about a bunch of kids I don’t even know?”  The answer to that is yes. Yes I am. And here are three reasons why:

  • Health care costs. A recent study published in Health Affairs showed that obesity accounted for an estimated 9.1% of annual health care spending in 2008 (approx $148 billion)
  • They’re watching you. Whether you know it or not, kids pay attention to what adults are doing (including what they are eating). You can be a great example for making healthy food choices to nieces, nephews or any other kid in your life.
  • You may not have a child, but odds are, there’s someone in your life that does. Childhood obesity can obviously lead to a life of poor health and many struggles.. even a shorter life span. I don’t want to see anyone I care about going through that.

The health of our nation affects us all, but it can be prevented by starting kids off on the right track. Introducing fresh fruits and vegetables at an early age helps children develop a preference for the taste… and will stick with them for the rest of their lives.  Become an informed “non-parent” and help spread the word about this simple, healthy philosophy. We have tons of recipes, tips, demonstrations and guidelines at www.freshfromfloridakids.com!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 12:35 pm

    great post. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

