Skip to content

The Hopeful Gardener Sees…Yellow?

May 6, 2010

I’ve never given the color yellow much thought, but this week it has been a source of consternation and great joy for me.  Last week I wrote about my new container garden; check out how much my little plants have grown in just a week!

The growth is amazing after one week!

Earlier in the week I noticed that the lower leaves of my basil plant were turning yellow.  Why?  Is it too much water?  Not enough water?  Too much sun/too hot?  If it is not enough water, thanks to more than 1 1/2 inches of rain that fell on Orlando yesterday, I should be okay.  If it is too much water or too hot, then I’ll start harvesting the green leaves and enjoy something basil-y sooner rather than later.

The plants are starting to fill out (yea!) but the basil is yellow at the base.

Now for the great joy – when I got home yesterday I noticed the tiniest little yellow blossom on my tomato plant!!  This was a very exciting moment for me.  Not only did I NOT kill a plant after a week in my care, it is growing and sprouting blossoms. 

I’m trying not to be overly optimistic that I will have numerous cherry tomatoes later on, but for now will bask in the fact that there is still a possibility.  I’ll keep you posted.  If you’ve had similar gardening joys, please share!

This little yellow flower is the source of joy and perhaps a harbinger of the tomatoes to come.

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    May 10, 2010 1:16 pm

    Yellow leaves typically indicate the plant needs more nutrients.

    • Melissa permalink
      May 10, 2010 2:56 pm

      Thanks, Susie! It seems to be doing better with the rains we had last week along with my watering it more. Now it seems that the tomato has leaf miners, but the plant is otherwise fine. I’ll post an update later this week.

Leave a Reply

