Skip to content

The Hopeful Gardener Has Tiny Baby Tomatoes!

June 4, 2010

The title says it all – I have tiny baby tomatoes on my plant!  They are green still but what a happy sight in my garden.  Earlier in the week I noticed that some of the flowers were dropping off and it didn’t occur to me that this was a good thing in terms of bearing fruit.

The first tomato I've ever grown!

Every day I am amazed at changes in my garden.  It never sunk in to me why so many people got great pleasure by tending a garden and now I’m happy to say that I understand.  I’m already thinking about what to plant next – maybe get another, smaller container for cilantro and lavender or flowers.  (For my friends and family for whom this is a great shock, take nice deep breaths!)  If anyone has suggestions for what I can grow in Zone 9b, please let me know.

For now, though, I will enjoy each change and will spend some time with my little garden.

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 12:05 pm

    Hey, good for you. We’ve not had to buy a tomato from Publix all year, because of the fruit that our plants have been giving us.

  2. June 7, 2010 9:16 am

    Congratulations! It’s quite exciting, isn’t it?

    • Melissa permalink
      June 8, 2010 1:27 pm

      Thanks! It is very exciting. I need to go get another stake because the plant is so big it toppled the current one yesterday. Thankfully I have a very sturdy yardstick to hold it in place until I get home today.

Leave a comment