Skip to content

The Hopeful Gardener Sees Red!!

June 17, 2010

Oh, what joy it is to garden!  (Okay, friends & family, pick yourselves up off the floor.)  I’ve been following the progress of my first little cherry tomato, from flower to small fruit to larger fruit.  It was green and yesterday morning I noticed a little bit of yellowing on it, so it is in the process of turning red.  Check it out.

A ripening tomato is an object of beauty

Imagine my surprise to spot a red tomato where I never even noticed one growing!  It is still ripening – it’s not quite ready for picking – but look at how pretty it is.

A surprise little gem (in my favorite color) hidden in the leaves

Learning curve time – With temperatures in the upper 90s (and heat indices of 105+) I am finding that I need to water every day.  The other night I returned home to find that the herbs and tomato plant had wilted severely and the tomato leaves were turning yellow.  No no no – not when I’m so close to harvest!  However, a good watering seemed to revive things.

Another issue is finding the plant tipped over.  Thankfully I was able to use a plastic yardstick (hmm – I just thought of the pun in that, using a yardstick in a yard!) to secure things.  Then yesterday I was able to stop by my local garden shop and get a bigger stake to hopefully aid in keeping everything upright.

While I was at the garden store, I bought another pot and when I got home, I was able to repot the three rosemary plants my momma gave me.  It was quick and I was able to do it while my Florida chicken and Florida green beans were cooking away in the kitchen!

It isn’t a big garden, but it is mine, and it makes me very happy.

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

