Skip to content

5 ways to enjoy Florida Tomatoes

June 23, 2010

Florida tomatoes are in season right now and they are cheap. I was in my local Publix yesterday and saw they were on sale for .79 cents a pound this week! I had to pick some up. Because I bought way too many tomatoes, I had to come up with some ideas of how to cook them. Thanks to working with a Chef and Google, I’ve got 5 different ways to eat tomatoes that I want to share.

#1. Succotash. Ok, hands down, this is my favorite recipe right now. So easy and so tasty! The one I like to cook comes from Chef Justin and it’s not online but here is one that is similar from Epicurious. I also add in sage flavored sausage and that is often times my meal. So good.

#2. Good ‘ole BLT. How can you go wrong with bacon, lettuce and tomatoes? Try different breads or spice it up with herb flavored mayo. The options are endless.

#3. Bruschetta. I’m for sure making this sometime this week. I found a delicious recipe on Simply Recipes that sounds easy and good! And just because I love the Food Network and love watching Giada – it’s pronounced “brusketta,” not “brew-shetta.”

#4. Tomato Jam. I was lucky enough to try this at an event I was helping Chef Justin with. He made this jam and it was good. I was hesitant at first but oh my gosh, so good. Now I might not actually make this because it’s quite the process but it’s a great idea.

#5. Tomato Caprese. This is simple and you can make it into a salad, an appetizer, a finger food… just take some fresh tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, basil and balsamic vinegar and be creative! That combination of flavors is simply irresistible.

So there are 5 ideas from me – how about you? Any ideas you’d like to share?

Images from Flickr, 2

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 4:11 pm

    Tomato jam sounds amazing!

  2. Michael Smith permalink
    June 23, 2010 5:31 pm

    Florida Tomatoes are Never Cheap Just A Great Value!
    Enjoy Florida Tomatoes
    Michael Smith

  3. Loret permalink
    June 23, 2010 6:34 pm

    (1) Tomato, bread, mayo, black pepper

    (2) Tomato, salt (eat like an apple)

  4. Brook K permalink
    June 24, 2010 1:24 pm

    My dads garden has a bountiful crop of cucumber and tomatoes, I like to slice them for a salad, add olive oil, balsamic vinegar some salt and lemon juice. So yummy!

Leave a Reply

