Skip to content

The Hopeful Gardener Can Grow!

July 1, 2010

Two months ago I thought that I would try to grow something.  Anything.  I am so happy to report that my cherry tomatoes are now ripening beautifully.  As promised, here is a photo taken this morning.

The fruits of my labors

Initially they were ripening one or two at a time (which looked really silly in my salads), but now it looks like I’ll have enough to use in recipes or to give away.  There were three ready to be picked this morning, so I brought those in to share with my three coworkers.  They are my first-ever grown-all-by-myself tomatoes.

I also started looking at what I can grow beginning in August/September and have just about narrowed down my choices.  Thanks for all your comments and interest during this process for me, and I look forward to writing more about more happy container gardens.

Bookmark and Share

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 11:05 am

    What are you planning on growing this fall?

  2. Melissa permalink
    July 2, 2010 2:12 pm

    Thanks for the question! I definitely want to grow full size tomatoes, so I’m starting to look for heirloom plants. If I can’t find any, then I will go to newer tomato varieties. (This time I will spring for the cage instead of the stake – it is quite a contraption in my garden now with two stakes and a plastic yard stick.)

    If I had more space I would love to grow some butternut or other winter squash. Since my space is a little limited, I was thinking about summer squash or maybe eggplant.

    I’ll still grow herbs but may add cilantro since it is one of my favorites.

    Do you have any recommendations?

  3. July 2, 2010 8:21 pm

    Not especially, but were looking into options since my tomato plants were doing so well.

  4. beth permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:48 pm

    Congratulations on your first harvest!

  5. Melissa permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:02 am

    Thanks, Beth! It has been very exciting. Every day I go out the door and there are a couple of tomatoes ready to be picked. The next time I grow small ones I will do at least two plants so that I’ll have a bigger yield.

    SR, I would love to know what you decide to grow in your garden.

Leave a Reply

