Skip to content

The Hopeful Gardener Grows Freeze-Dried Herbs

December 22, 2010

After a hiatus from good garden tending, I’m back and ready to see what other delicious vegetables I can grow.  Right now my container garden is a sad little box, filled with very dry and frost-killed herbs and tomato plants.  I was surprised to see new growth on the tomato until the recent freeze, and my lack of attention has helped hasten the decline of my once pretty garden.

So…does anyone have any suggestions for what I should grow in my limited 2’x2′ by 3′ deep space in Zone 9b (Orlando)? I’m fine with trying new tomato varieties and getting some more basil, but I’m also excited about trying other items since I was pleasantly surprised with the success in my first garden.  Since it is winter, it might make sense to wait until spring planting for food crops, but I am ready to experience the joys once again of working with the land, at least the small-scale version I have!

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 11:58 am

    No need to wait till spring to replant. You can grow lettuce, greens, chinese cabbage, radishes, carrots and a handful of other cool season veggies right now. However the basil and tomoatoes will do much better come mid-March or after the last chance of frost. Happy Gardening!

    • Melissa permalink
      December 22, 2010 6:04 pm

      Those are great ideas. Thanks so much!

  2. Kim permalink
    December 29, 2010 10:51 am

    I’d like to know, too! I’d like to grow more things in my Orlando garden, but with the heat and humidity, it’s not always as easy as in other parts of the world. Chives have grown well, as has lettuce. Looking forward to sharing some more successes, though!

    • Melissa permalink
      January 5, 2011 12:49 pm

      Thanks for writing, Kim. My basil was great – prolific and delicious. The chives and oregano also did really well, and rosemary is still growing, although it is not happy at the moment. I would love to hear your success stories!

Leave a Reply

