Skip to content

2011 Food Trends

January 18, 2011

One of my favorite parts of a new year beginning are all of the food trend predictions that come out. From healthy to off-the-wall, here’s a recap of some of the ones that stood out the most to me.

  • Veggies, veggies and more veggies. It’s all I am seeing. The Wall Street Journal wrote a great piece on how 2011 will become the year of the vegetable.
  • Cupcakes are sooo 2010. Pies are the latest craze, according to Restaurant Hospitality. I’ve actually seen this trend across many of the articles I’ve read. Looks like I need to talk to Chef Justin and get him to write some recipes for some pies.
  • The first off the wall trend I’ve seen is one that hay, yes HAY, will be used to give a grassy flavor to food.
  • The Food Channel had a couple trends I found to be interesting including the return of canning and chefs in schools. We’re already ahead of the curve with chefs in schools.
  • Good Housekeeping had a few good trend predictions and the one that stood out the most to me was “Haute Couture Hot Dogs”. I guess I should unfreeze that package of hotdogs in my freezer and get a little creative.

What food trends are you looking forward to the most?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 3:06 pm

    I’m looking forward to the end of bacon in EVERYTHING! 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 5:52 am

    Starting to can this week!

Leave a Reply

