Skip to content

7 Unique Ways to Eat a Florida Avocado

January 19, 2011

Florida avocados are in season – and they’re healthier than their west coast counterpart. That being said I thought I’d show you 7 unique ways to eat avocados, other than in guacamole.

  1. On a sandwich. Try this delicious Chef Justin original sandwich.
    Crispy Peppered Bacon and Avocado Sandwiches
  2. As a salad. But not a leafy salad…
    Avocado and Egg Salad (go all the way to the end)
  3. In a drink. Personally, I’m scared of this smoothie (it’s the one in the picture).
    Avocado Smoothie
  4. For dessert. I’ve never thought about having any type of avocado cookie but here’s one that I might actually try.
    Avocado Cream Cheese Cookies
  5. As a condiment on a burger. This one isn’t as original as some of the others on this list but still good…
    Bacon and Swiss Burgers with Tomato and Avocado
  6. Fried. I think anything fried is good. This might actually be worth trying.
    Fried Avocado Slices with Spicy Lime Crema
  7. In a pie. I’m unsure about this one, I think I’d try it in a cookie but as an entire pie?
    Avocado Pie

Do you have any favorite ways to eat them?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 10:02 am

    I like avocados cubed and added on top of chili. I also add it on top of some soups before serving.

    • January 19, 2011 2:38 pm

      Avocados on chili? I’ve never heard of that. Interesting!

  2. PJ Grant permalink
    January 19, 2011 11:05 am

    I’m the PJ mentioned in the Avocado Pie post from The Bitten Word, however I’ve never made the pie myself. One of my very favorite avocado recipes is Guacamole Chicken Salad, which comes from the Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel (also posted by The Bitten Word). I do love a chilled avocado soup, as well as Avocado-Strawberry Salad (Gourmet magazine, 2009). But for a fast delicious fix I just chopped an avocado and tomato and toss them together with a little spritz of lime and a dash of salt. One question: if avocados are in season, why is my tree just beginning to bud?? Looks like it’ll be another bumper crop!

  3. January 19, 2011 3:20 pm

    Putting 1/2 a frozen avocado into a smoothie acts as a natural (and vegan) thickener and you can’t taste it (I promise I do it all the time!)

  4. PTG permalink
    January 19, 2011 4:57 pm

    My dad used to pick them from the tree in our backyard, cut them in half, cube them right in the skin, splash some vinegar in and eat it with a spoon.

    Same way I eat them today except I get them from Publix instead of a tree!

  5. Carolyn permalink
    January 19, 2011 6:44 pm

    My favorite salad is an avocado cut up with a ripe Florida tomato, some sweet onion and a little mayo. Mix together and top with some crumbled bleu cheese, sea salt and pepper…. Yummy!!

  6. Susan Hoffman permalink
    January 19, 2011 11:43 pm

    A friend made some avocado ice cream once time … sounds weird but it was surprisingly refreshing.

  7. February 7, 2011 5:34 pm

    cut up in chunks and tossed into a salad, also sliced on sandwiches.

  8. June 27, 2011 10:34 am

    There’s nothing weird about avocados in smoothies. They’re mild with a great, cremy texture and very healthy for you. Another great recipe is this one: http://honestfare.com/creamy-avocado-smoothie/

    It calls for a hass, but you can certainly use a FL avo. Sounds weird, but is so delicious and refreshing!

Leave a Reply

