Skip to content

Eating Right to Run Faster

January 20, 2011

I’ve recently started training to run my second half marathon in Atlanta on March 20th. I ran my first back in December, had so much fun that I decided to it again. When I was training for my first race, I wasn’t exactly the model example of how to eat right and train properly for great results. This time around, however, I’m changing my ways because I want to be faster.

Since I want to be faster than I was in my last race, I have been doing a lot of reading on how to eat right to be a better runner/athlete. So I thought I’d share a few of my favorite websites I read for nutrition and healthy eating tips.

  • Active.com is probably my go-to website. I follow them on twitter, get their email newsletters and visit their website. They have a wealth of information.
  • Livestrong.com is one that I tend to forget about but when I remember it, I’m glad I did. They too have a great amount of information.
  • Runnersworld.com is another favorite of mine, because I am a runner. I think their nutrition tips apply to anyone trying to meet their fitness goals, not just runners.
  • Coolrunning.com is another website I like as well. Their Couch to 5k training program is one of the most popular running programs out there.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on eating right for fitness and where you go to find tips. If you leave a comment on this blog post telling me what your favorite training website is – or where you like to get your nutrition tips from, we’ll send you a free Fresh from Florida sports towel as a thank you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. julie permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:36 pm

    great to no I will be doing a crohns walks for take steps in may great tips ty tweeting @waterbluffy

  2. Kristen Eby permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:37 pm

    I get alot of tips from my local YMCA trainers

  3. January 20, 2011 2:40 pm

    I like the shape magazine article on ways to run faster. You should eat right regardless of running a marathon. One of my best tips is to keep yourself hydrated, especially in winter. I live in a cold climate and being bundled up and running in the cold weather u actually can sweat more. Don’t fill up on sugary drinks, I like to drink coconut water as well as fresh fruit juices with no sugar added.

  4. Diane Redcay permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:43 pm

    I read runners world online and I get tips from Oxygen mag. When I eat good I can go longer what a great feeling that it you know a runners high

  5. Kevin Berry permalink
    January 20, 2011 4:33 pm

    I like to review http://www.usatriathlon.org/ for tips on training as well as healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

