Skip to content

Feast (with) Your Eyes

February 15, 2011

I love cooking. Why? Because I love eating. 🙂

But seriously, I try to cook dinner several times a week, whether it’s just for me or for several people. I used to have a problem with cooking from time to time though because I’d get in a slump – tired of making the same dishes over and over again, yet not sure what I should try next. Scrolling through the pages of Allrecipes.com (which I’ve said many times is my go-to recipe site) can sometimes turn up uninspiring. How, you may ask, can a website with thousands of recipes and reviews not give me any ideas? Easy answer – it’s all in the eyes. No offense to the Allrecipes community, but those user-submitted photos rarely look very appetizing.

So now when I’m in a “slump” I look through drool-worthy food photos. Seeing a gorgeous dish with ingredients  thatI like makes my stomach growl, and I will crave it until I get it!  It’s okay if they don’t have a recipe with them… as long as you know the name of the dish, I’m sure you can find one online.  Try it out next time you’re in need of some cooking inspiration.

There are tons of sites and blogs to look at. For starters, check out photograzingFlickr, deviantART, PrettyGirlFood, f-word, .  And hey, we have some pretty good looking pictures too in our Recipes of the Month section.

Now some photos to get you hungry 🙂

Amaretto Strawberries

Clam Soup

Grilled Vegetables

Fig and grapefruit salad with mango ginger dressing

Grapefruit and Avocado Salad

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 9:18 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more! most of the pictures on allrecipes are pretty drab, to say the least!
    great blog BTW!

    from one shutterbug foodie to another, First we eat with our eyes…
    http://eatingwithsole.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

