Skip to content

FAPC Member Spotlight: Intensity Academy Gourmet & Hot Sauce Company

March 23, 2011

Do you enjoy adding a little bit of heat to what your dishes? If so, Intensity Academy Hot Sauces might be just the thing to try. It may sound a little different, but their most popular hot sauce is made from carrots. Yes, you read that right, carrots! Owner and creator, Michele Northrup told us a little background on how she came up with the idea:

Intensity Academy was created from inspiration in the garden at my children’s school. The vegetable of the week was carrots and we all took a basket of carrots home & were supposed to come up with something unique that the students had not tried before. I came up with a kickin’ carrot hot sauce and brought it in. the students loved it, the staff loved it, they said “Ms. Michele, you need to bottle this!” I thought….”Yeah, right”, but I started to look in the stores & realized there was nothing similar that was all natural. I created a single batch of sauce to start with & figured WORSE case scenario if it didn’t work out everyone I knew would get hot sauce for the Holidays! Now, three years later we are getting SAUCY with thousands of fans all over the world!

She has all sorts of types of hot sauces, marinades, ketchups, BBQ sauces and grilling sauces. You can check out the product line up here. What makes her product even more unique is all of the sauces are infused with tea.

Intensity Academy has been in business for 3 years and has won over 40 national awards in just that short period of time.

Visit Intensity Academy’s website and you can also like them on Facebook. If you’re on twitter, you can follow them at: @SaucyQueen

Giveaway!

And because Intensity Academy is just awesome, they sent us a Saucy Pack to give away! This is a 4 pack of sauces including Chai Chipotle Chup (tea infused spicy ketchup), Chai Chipotle Q’ (tea infused BBQ sauce), Green Tea Gourmet (green tea infused oriental sauces) and Chai Tahi Teriyaki. If you enjoy trying different things when you cook, this is the sauce to get!

To win this Saucy 4-pack, all you need to do is leave us a comment below telling us what you’d cook with the sauces if you won and you’re entered to win. We’ll take up to one entry per email address, per day (so that’s up to 3 entries!) and pick a winner at random on Friday, March 25th by Noon. Good luck!


22 Comments leave one →
  1. Paige @ Saucy & Sweet permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:40 am

    Ooh, such unique combinations! I would love to try the Green Tea Gourmet and the Chai Tahi Teriyaki with fresh fish! Yum!

  2. Vi Graske permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:42 am

    Jalapeno burgers on the grill with the ketchup, ribs or chicken on the grill with the bbq sauce and stir fry or shrimp with the oriental sauces. Lots of garlic and noodles with the oriental sauces.

  3. Paul permalink
    March 23, 2011 10:09 am

    The Chai Chipotle Q’ would serve as a solid base, along with a touch of Florida wildflower honey, in crock-pot pulled pork served on a tosted bun and topped with provolone cheese.

  4. Deborah C. Anderson permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:16 pm

    Chai Chipotle Chup (tea infused spicy ketchup) on my hushpuppies, Chai Chipotle Q’ (tea infused BBQ sauce)on my southern BBQ cat fish, Green Tea Gourmet (green tea infused oriental sauces) and Chai Tahi Teriyaki on my shrimp . . . that’s just for starters . . . I can think of lots of good uses for them. Please pick me! lol

  5. Nichole Patrick permalink
    March 23, 2011 1:26 pm

    I’d cook up some ribs in that BBQ sauce!

  6. March 23, 2011 1:38 pm

    This is one of the most unique and interesting culinary inventions I have ever heard of! I am a HUGE hot sauce fan, can’t wait to check out the product line.

    Chai Chipotle Chup – put a kick in to my meatloaf!

    Chai Chipotle Q’ – definitely perfect for a slow smoked brisket!

    The oriental sauces would be amazing on homemade Chinese ‘take out’ chicken wings, or even better – Large fresh Gulf shrimp!

  7. March 23, 2011 1:40 pm

    Ribs Baby!

  8. Michelle permalink
    March 23, 2011 2:02 pm

    Oh nice flavors! Chicken of all sorts, meatloaf with the ketchup one!

  9. March 23, 2011 4:22 pm

    Its would be a tie between Chai Thai Teriyaki and Chai Chipotle Q – I am totally into Chai right now and they sound amazing!

  10. March 23, 2011 4:54 pm

    They all sound delicious! First I’d use Green Tea Gourmet sauce to stir-fry some lean meat and vegetables.

    Next time, I’d try Chipotle Chup with french fries or corned beef hash. And of course all of them on hamburgers – but not at the same time.

    I’ll even try adding a small abount to jasmine rice!

  11. March 23, 2011 6:10 pm

    i would soak a steak, smoke some ribs, make some grouper fingers, maybe get some gator meat or just slow cook a pork shoulder.

  12. Donna Sweikow permalink
    March 23, 2011 6:14 pm

    Possibilities are endless, Chup in my meatloaf, Chai Marinade for my chicken, Green Tea is great for just a salad. Q for your ribs. Don’t forget Garlic Goodness and Carrot Karma only problem? They need to come in larger bottles

  13. March 23, 2011 6:58 pm

    I would give one bottle to my brother and he would put it on some baby back ribs and i would give one bottle to my dad and he would layer it over some chicken breasts and makes a saucesome sandwich and I would slice up some potatoes and make me some potato wedge fries and dip them in some chup! 🙂 and drink some tea!

  14. Jackie Doeden permalink
    March 23, 2011 7:36 pm

    Now that the snow has melted and we can get out of the back door to the grill I have a rack of ribs that would be so great with some Chai Chipotle sauce…yummmy. Making me drool to think about it.

  15. Carol rogero permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:19 pm

    I’d like to try grilling some Florida seafood with it!

  16. Peter Zimmermann permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:43 pm

    I like to smoke fish and ribs. Sounds good for a brine mix or to spread on the ribs.

  17. March 23, 2011 10:49 pm

    One of my favorite things is sauteed cabbage and just a dash of hot squared would make a sensational dish! ( I would use more than a dash!)

  18. March 24, 2011 11:10 am

    On a ham sandwich! Any of them!

  19. Summer permalink
    March 24, 2011 12:11 pm

    I would love to grill some chicken with it. Yum!

  20. Jennifer Valley permalink
    March 24, 2011 5:34 pm

    That Chai would’ve come in handy in today’s stir fry but unfortunately I”m temporarily out!

  21. Terisa Glover permalink
    March 25, 2011 10:35 am

    I’d actually be inspired to cook – period!

  22. March 25, 2011 10:54 am

    I bet Chipotle Chup would even greatly improve a McDonalds hamburger!

Leave a Reply

