Skip to content

Pickled blueberries + 9 other interesting ways to enjoy them

March 29, 2011

After the popularity of my post on weird ways to eat strawberries last month, I figured I’d do another – this time about blueberries, since we’re at the very beginning of blueberry season here in Florida.

These aren’t as far fetched as the ones from my last post but there are definitely some that will make you look twice.

1. Pickled Blueberries. Now I don’t know about you. but I’m from the south. I’ve eaten a lot of ‘pickled’ foods… But blueberries? That’s not one of them.

2. Blueberry Gingerbread Pancakes. If you like blueberries and gingerbread this might be the recipe for you to try. I’m not sure exactly how it would taste, but if someone is willing to try it out and let me know, that’d be great.

3. Blueberry Grunt. Even after several google searches, I am still unsure what a ‘grunt’ actually is. However, I don’t think you can go wrong when the ingredients include sugar, cinnamon and blueberries.

4. Blueberry Butter. I was more intrigued by this one than anything. I’m not sure if I would take the time it requires to make it, but I bet it is delicious when it is finished.

5. Blueberry Pigs. I just thought the name was funny. Honestly, I figured it would be somewhat similar to a pig in a blanket, but actually it’s like a mini pie.

6. Blueberry Potato Cake. I really have no idea what this one would taste like. She says in the post its a cross between blueberry muffin and blueberry coffee cake. The picture is pretty, though.

7. Blueberry Soup. This isn’t a savory soup, it’s more of a dessert soup. I’m on the fence about this one as well.

8. Blueberry Dumplings. This one is pretty self explanatory. But when you have a recipe from Paula Deen, you know it’s going to be good!

9. Blueberry Eggnog. Do you enjoy eggnog? Christmas isn’t the only time for eggnog. This recipe gives you a good excuse to make some!

10. Blueberry Salsa. I’m thinking I might try to convince Chef Justin to make this one. It seems to be a savory salsa instead of a sweet dessert one.

Do you have any other interesting ways you like to eat blueberries? Let me know in the comments!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 12:04 pm

    I have a couple!
    Blueberry Jalapeño Jelly: http://wp.me/p1gB0f-1k
    and
    Blueberry Focaccia: http://wp.me/p1gB0f-1n

    Thanks for the other links – I am going to try a few!

  2. March 30, 2011 3:49 pm

    Blueberry Salsa is delicous, get it from the Blueberry Store, Grand Junction, MI. Tried the Blueberry Eggnog and it was a hit with our Christmas Party. Google Blueberry Martini (Great Recipe), and also have put blueberries in with ground hamburger meat and grilled.

Leave a Reply

