Skip to content

Redland Summer Fruit Festival

June 8, 2011

In working and meeting with the Tropical Fruit Growers of South Florida, I’ve had the opportunity to visit the Fruit & Spice Park in Homestead. What an interesting place!

On June 11 & 12, the park will host the annual Redland Summer Fruit Festival. The event features tropical fruit plants and local agriculture, and vendors will be on hand to provide locally-grown tropical fruits, local wines and other goodies. It runs from 10:00am to 5:00pm both days. Admission is $8 for everyone 11 years and older.

The Fruit & Spice Park is located at 24801 S.W. 187th Avenue in Homestead. If you’re in the area or looking for a road trip to find out about Florida’s delicious and cool tropical fruits, then this festival is for you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 5:45 pm

    One of our South Florida treasures! We’re featuring Fruit & Spice in Summer issue of Edible South Florida.

    • Melissa permalink
      June 9, 2011 8:54 am

      That’s great! Edible South Florida is a very nice publication. Since I’m in Central Florida, I receive Edible Orlando and I enjoy reading it. I look forward to reading your article about the park. Thanks for writing.

  2. June 8, 2011 6:09 pm

    I hope I can come with my family. My wife loves the local South Florida fruit especially the mangoes that are dropping everywhere. She is insistent that we need to plant some fruit trees around our house. I am not sure if I want the mess. We will see. But I look forward to the festival.

    • Melissa permalink
      June 9, 2011 8:57 am

      It is a fun event. Several years ago I worked at a booth with the Tropical Fruit Growers of South Florida; it is when I learned how to cut a jackfruit. For information about what fruit trees can do well where you live, I recommend contacting the University of Florida/IFAS extension office in your county (assuming that you live in Florida). A link to the website is http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu and you can find articles and information that can assist in your planning. Thanks for writing, and let us know if you go!

Leave a Reply

