Skip to content

Craving Carrots

June 22, 2011

I don’t know if it was Melissa’s recent post on Florida carrots or just my body telling me it needed something orange and healthy, but I have been dying for some carrot ginger soup this week! How crazy that I would want soup in 100+ degree Florida weather… but I couldn’t help it; a craving is a craving!

Last night I got my carrot fix, and it was so yummy that I had to share. It’s based off of a recipe I found here, but of course I tweaked it to my liking (and craving). I wish I had taken a picture because it’s a gorgeous looking dish. This one may be too flavorful/spicy for little ones, so set their serving aside before adding all the “pinches”.

It’s an easy recipe to make, and you can always add or substitute spices to suit your own taste.   I am lucky enough to have an immersion blender to puree all the ingredients once they are cooked, but a regular blender will work just as well. My version has some Indian flavors, but you can definitely omit them and still have a great soup. And, I’m not going to lie- I used a package of frozen butternut squash instead of spending the time to make it fresh. Sue me… but of course carrots were fresh!

Florida Carrot Ginger Spice Soup

Ingredients

  • 1/2 medium butternut squash
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 pound Florida carrots – peeled and diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (2 inch) piece fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 4 cups chicken broth or water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 pinch each of cinnamon, cumin, garam masala
  • Curry powder to taste (probably about 1/2 to 1 tbs depending on how much you like it)
  • 1/4 cup half and half (optional)
  • Florida honey (optional)

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Scoop seeds out of the butternut squash half, and place cut side down onto a greased baking sheet. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until softened. Allow to cool, then scoop the squash flesh out of the skin using a large spoon and set aside. Discard skin.

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan or soup pot over medium heat. Add chopped onion and garlic, and cook, stirring until onion is translucent. Pour in the broth or water, and add squash, carrots and ginger. Bring to a boil, and cook for at least 20 minutes, or until carrots and ginger are tender.

Puree the mixture in the blender, or using an immersion blender. Return soup to the pan, and heat through. Season with salt, pepper, other spices and curry powder.

Ladle into serving bowls, and pour a swirl of honey and cream over the top as a garnish if desired.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

